Testimonials & Reviews

4.93/5
Pawel Jankowski, MD -  - Neurosurgeon

Pawel Jankowski, MD

Neurosurgeon & Spine Specialist located in Irvine, CA & Newport Beach, CA

14 total reviews

Dr. Pawel Jankowski always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 14 reviews with an average rating of 4.93 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Pawel Jankowski below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Bill C.
Submitted 07/15/20
Dr. Jankowski is a specialist in a specialty of spine surgery. His advanced education in leading-edge surgical techniques make him the top surgeon in Southern California. He is experienced, educated, and has a strong record doing the most difficult of surgery existing. He straightened me up to stand like a Marine from a bent over old man. This was after a spine surgery from only two years ago. All my pain was relieved from low back to neck and shoulders. I am a new person from his surgical skill. I sought out several “second opinions” and found out very few, if any, could do it. Having this young a doctor with his advanced skills in our area is a blessing. Dr. Jankowski is personable and thorough in his approach to describing the surgery, and educated in the most modern and advanced way to do the surgery. I could not recommend him more highly.
Zandra W.
Submitted 06/11/20
After reading all the testimonials I realize there is not much more I can write as I agree with all the positive comments. Dr. Jankowski made me feel special, and from the comments, a quality he gives to all. I am an 81 year old women who has been very active all my life in wilderness sports of hiking, rock climbing, backpacking as well as horse training and riding, running, tennis, the list goes on. Because I was not smart in how I used my back it finally gave out leaving me in a lot of pain and unable to do the things I like most. I'm not sure how many other doctors would take on an 81 year old women with a back in the condition of mine but with our first visit I knew I had found the right doctor for me. With my age I was concerned to have the major spinal surgery necessary to give me back my active life. Dr. Jankowski ordered several tests to determine if I was a candidate for this surgery. As with his other patients, he took the time to explain carefully the whole procedure, answering any and all questions I had. He also anticipated what I needed to know and didn't ask. During the surgery I had some issues, but Dr. Jankowski knew what to do and even though I had a longer stay in the hospital I was able to go home in good shape. Several times I was told I must not fall and of course that is exactly what I did causing a compression fracture in one vertebra. Dr. Jankowski made sure I received the right procedure to take care of this and the right doctor to do it. (Medicare is not always easy to work with!) I really appreciate his caring manner, his way of listening to me and not forgetting what I said, his following through and for being there for me, giving the encouragement I needed . I'm now doing quite well and planning a hike in the Mammoth Lakes area this summer. Thank you Dr. Jankowski!
Stephanie E.
Submitted 06/11/20
I have to agree Dr. Jankowski is a miracle worker. For 6 months, I have been on disability due to severe right-sided leg pain and no one was able to help me. I had 4 MRIs done, PT for 16 sessions, 5 epidurals from two different anesthesiologists, a number of pills I can't even begin to list and 4 neurosurgeons ( I won't give any names) who refused to even give me a chance. I even had one surgeon who told me to just live with it and be on long term disability. Then this past month (May) the pain was getting crazy, I was debilitated. I could not walk anymore, I was on the ground slithering around like a snake. Enough was enough. I went to the ER and they discharged me with a herniated L5-S1 disc. The next day I couldn't even get out of bed, so I called 911 and returned to the hospital. I was promptly admitted then I met the surgeon who gave me my life back- Dr. Jankowski. The minute I met him, I felt hope that this pain would finally go away and I would finally be able to walk like a normal 28 year old. For 6 months of my life, I was unable to laugh, sneeze, cough, bear down, run without any pain. I was miserable. Dr. Jankowski exuded such confidence when meeting me that I knew, under his care, I would be okay. He handled my case like it was a piece of cake, whereas; others fled in different directions. There are not enough words in the English dictionary to express how grateful and thankful I am for Dr. Jankowski. It is now almost a month post op, I am walking with no more pain. I can't believe I am able to type such a sentence (Before Dr. Jankowski, I didn't think I would ever be pain free) The first time I sneezed, I almost cried because of how amazing it felt to not have any pain. From the bottom of my heart, thank you Dr. Jankowski for giving me a second chance at life. You truly saved my life.
James C.
Submitted 06/09/20
Dr. Jankowski is a professional, knowlable, highly skilled surgeon, as well as, a caring practitioner. I feel very fortunate to have been referred to him for care -- No more back pain!!
Carol R.
Submitted 06/03/20
Dr. Jankowski did a great job explaining my condition to me before my surgery. He ordered necessary images in advance. The aftercare has been excellent with physical therapy. His follow up has been extremely thorough.
Brian R.
Submitted 06/03/20
My experiance was very professional drom the start. Subjects described in great detail and understandable. Entire staff very pleasant and informative. Would recommend Dr. Jankowski to anyone. Very thorough in after surgery care also.
Brian R.
Submitted 06/02/20
Dr. Jankowski was phonomenal! He is very caring and concerned about his patients. He wants to make sure that his patients have a good quality of life and his dedication to neurosurgery is remarkable! I will refer him to anyone that needs this type of medical assistance.
Susan T.
Submitted 04/27/20
Thank you Dr. Jankowski you are amazing
Lynn W.
Submitted 04/22/20
Dr. Jankowski performed spinal fusion surgery on me in January 2020. Based on that experience I can say that I’m as confident as a non-medical person can be that his judgement, advice and surgical services were of the highest professional caliber, making use of the most advanced medical technology available, and I would, despite a few criticisms mentioned below, strongly recommend Dr. Jankowski to others in need of spinal surgery. Before and after my surgery he explained things thoroughly, and he patiently answered all my questions. He’s friendly and engaging, and I never felt rushed during appointments. When Hoag hospital advised me that I must be released from the hospital after my surgery, and I resisted their suggestion to enter an unaffiliated rehab nursing facility because of the bad things I’ve heard about them, Dr. Jankowski went out of his way to have me admitted into the Hoag acute rehab center, a terrific facility. His successful intervention on my behalf was greatly appreciated. As mentioned above, I had some complaints about the communication skills of Dr. Jankowski and his office. Their follow-up on scheduling and pre and post op deliverables and promises were frustratingly slow and poorly managed, sometimes taking two or three phone calls to remind them of the follow-up I was promised. I get the sense that some of this may have been the result of Dr. Jankowski’s desire to satisfy his patients, as it was apparent that he puts in long hours, and he may innocently promise more than his busy schedule will allow. There were miscommunications in scheduling my surgery, which were extremely disconcerting for a patient who was in significant pain and anxious for surgery at the soonest possible time. Despite these frustrations, I eventually received everything I was promised, except the daily post-op hospital visits (which I’m not sure I needed anyway) and when, in my first post-op office visit with him, I voiced my complaints to him by way of what I characterized as constructive criticism, he graciously accepted it as such, apologized for the slip-ups, and promised future improvement. Repeating what I said at the outset, if I ever need another spinal surgery I will overlook the administrative shortcomings and unhesitatingly make him the first doctor I call. I will also add that I met one of his other patients in his office during my post-op office visit. She had recently had fusion surgery by Dr. Jankowski that sounded far more complicated than mine, and she had nothing but kind words for him.
Paula P.
Submitted 04/18/20
Wish I could give 10 stars. Selecting a surgeon to resolve back pain is a monumental decision. I met a patient of his who had her surgery a few months earlier and was shocked at how normal she was walking, sitting and standing. I scheduled a consultation and after reviewing MRI, bone density, and x-rays, Dr. Jankowski was confident he could fix the issues. Even better - I left his office feeling confident he was the appropriate Dr. for me. I was hopeful for the first time in 5 years. Surgery was scheduled within a couple weeks and the results of his work has exceeded all my expectations. Recovery is going even better than I anticipated.
Nick K.
Submitted 04/17/20
Dr Jankowski is a miracle worker. I was experience the worst neck pain in my life from two raging bulging discs. The pain was severe and ever present. I had run the gauntlet of treatments (PT, 3 Epidurals, acupuncture) and nothing worked. Dr Jankowski was able to quickly diagnose the problem and prescribe a double full disc replacement. It was an outpatient surgery that went perfectly...I was in and out within 23 hours. The procedure was done on a Wednesday and I was back to work, 100% neck pain free by Monday! I could not be more pleased with the outcome. Thanks Dr. Jankowski!
Nancy G.
Submitted 04/17/20
I came to Dr Jankowski with severe migraines and weakness and occasional numbness in my arms. He was able to diagnose the disk issue in my neck and fix it. He took time to explain the MRI and CT scans and how the nerve issues would be addressed in detail. The surgery was very successful, with minimal pain after the surgery. The migraine frequency and intensity have decreased by 80% and I am looking forward to physical therapy :-)
Antonio N.
Submitted 04/16/20
The hospital was great and I am very happy with the procedures that Dr. Jankowski performed.
Rhonda C.
Submitted 04/16/20
Dr. Jankowski is an excellent surgeon and cares for you as if you are his only patient. He explains things thoroughly and is very detailed. Highly recommend Dr. J.